#CollegeStyle: Majella Shields

During my four years at uni, I was able to have the opportunity to study abroad in Australia and Oxford, England. The first thing I noticed abroad was the style of students there compared to students in the States. You can tell they spent more time on getting dressed in the morning. They were more put together and fashion forward. In the States, you find students wearing yoga pants, leggings, and uggs most of the time. Unfortunately, I’m one of those lazy students. During the week, I don’t really get dressed for class. I just love to be as comfortable as possible, even if I look like crap. I can say that was something I did admire,  these students I studied with in Oxford and Sydney took the time everyday to get dressed and look put together.

I met Majella this year in my global communication and marketing class. I noticed that everyday she came to class dressed to impress and I was obsessed with it! Knowing she was from Ireland, I wasn’t shocked at all. But she still had amazing style. I love Majella’s style because she isn’t afraid of color, patterns, or textures. My own personal style consists of a lot of black, white, and grey. So, I could truly appreciate Majella’s use of color. It not only brightens up the day, but the chilly weather that comes along with it. I mean, Majella could do NO wrong!

Majella ShieldsName: Majella Shields

Occupation: Fashion Student

Where are you from? Ireland

How would you describe your style? I would say my style is quirky and different. I like weird pieces that stand out and wear them with original simple garments for balance. I hate having the same clothes as everyone else so i like to customize my clothes, and i also like to make my own garments. I made a dress and wore it to a wedding in the summer, which was interesting. I also like to shop in thrift stores, I have found some unique pieces that you just couldn’t buy in stores for as little as $1 which makes it even nicer.

What are your favorite stores to shop in? I am a huge fan of Topshop and Primark. Primark is a fast fashion store with really good prices. I will buy most of my clothes there; they have fab jewelry, shoes and bags. If i have a special occasion or want to treat myself i will go to Topshop or River Island. Although from coming to America I discovered Forever 21, although I’m not a huge fan i find the quality of their clothes and jewelry especially not very good. As I mentioned I have also got into thrift shopping i have also found some good bargains in the old navy clearance section. I love a good bargain!

Who’s your favorite designer? I love Peter Pilotto, he is an Austrian designer he is known for his bright kaleidoscope pattern and structured dressed his work is truly gorgeous. He recently made an affordable collection for target, which flew out of the stores in hours.

What is one item of clothing you feel your best in?​ I have a little white crochet lace dress that I got from H&M last year I love it. It can be worn over or under brightly colored blouse, or with a flannel for daywear with tights a boots, or at night with heels and a statement necklace. I wear it a lot it’s so comfortable and flattering.

Do you normally love to incorporate lots of color in your looks? Yes, I love color. I try to incorporate a few colours into my outfits but I will ensure one color is constant, for example if I am wearing a black skirt I will wear a black collar under a brightly coloured sweater, and I will tie it all together with a neutral coloured belt and the same neutral colored shoes or boots.

What is the one item you can’t live without (can be anything)? My oversized denim jacket that I’m wearing today and most days!!

Do you often mix and match fabrics and colors? Yea, I like to clash patterns a lot. A black and white polka dot shirt tucked into a blue aztec printed skirt with black tights to tie it all together.

What are you wearing? Today i am wearing a bright pink shirt, under a loose cable knit grey sweater and a black and white statement necklace, with a black leather mini skirt with black tights, little brown boots a brown oversized bag and my oversized denim jacket.

ImageImageImage

To see more of Majella’s fresh looks check out her blog and Instagram!

Blog: http://whatuwearinggurl.wordpress.com/

Instagram: @majellashields

Leave a comment